Different Grades of Lumber and their Features

Different Grades of Lumber and their Features

The timbers from the trees are honed and shaped to create lumber. It is a wood product, thus because of the appearance of the wood utilized, its consistency is not uniform. Therefore, grading of the lumbers is done by construction companies. These structural qualities aid in classifying lumber with various attributes. These grades make it easier to select the best lumber for a particular job. Additionally, it aids the buyer in estimating project costs and the amount of waste the wood will produce.

The lumber supplier in India delivers imported all grades of lumber for construction and manufacturing.

Both hardwood and softwood have many grades, though. The names “hardwood” and “softwood” refer to wood from various trees that have distinct characteristics.


Grading of Lumbers

Since lumber is a wood product, it has a wide range of physical characteristics, making it challenging to discern between lumber with superior attributes and lumber with inferior characteristics. Construction businesses have developed a grading system for timber that resembles a grade to assess the lumber’s quality in order to make things simple. Based on the strength and other characteristics of the lumber, the grades can suggest an application for it.

Hardwood Lumber

Hardwood is a strong, durable material that is adaptable and suitable for a variety of uses. Based on their species and colors, these woods can be combined in countless ways. Every piece of furniture constructed of hardwood benefits greatly from the complicated structure’s exceptional strength and durability. The three hardwoods that are most frequently utilized are Oak, Teak, and Meranti.

Growing and drying times are longer for hardwood trees. As a result, it is a more expensive type of wood with more durability. As a result, hardwood produces lumber that is quite strong. Some hardwoods are utilized for wooden floors and have a beautiful appearance.


Hardwood Lumber Grades


Hardwood lumbers are easier to grade than softwood lumbers. It is based on the lumber’s durability and attractiveness. It also relies on the dimensions of the wood used to make the lumbers, as well as how many pieces can be made from a single piece of wood. The items that are taken out of the log and found to be defect-free receive the final grade. The quality of the wood used increases as the grade rises and decreases, indicating greater quality timber.


High-Grade Hardwood Lumbers



  • First and Second Grade (FAS)

This is the highest grade of lumber available with a board size of 6″X 8″. The length of the lumber is greater than 8 feet.


  • Selects Grade

Select grade lumbers are the same as that of FAS except for the size of the board. Its board size is reduced in width to 4 inches and length to 6 feet.


Low-Grade Hardwood Lumbers



1. Number 1 Common (No. 1C) Grade:-



This grade is also known as cabinet grade as it is mostly used to construct kitchen cabinets and some parts of furniture. However, there are a few requirements for this grade.

  • The width of the board should be 3 inches.
  • The length of the board should be 4 feet.
  • The minimum cutting size should be 3 inches wide x 3 feet long.
  • Both sides of the board should have the same specifications.


2. Number 2A Common (No. 2AC) Grade:



It is also known as an economic grade which has a reduced board size. Number 2A Common Grade is commonly used in wooden flooring with fewer applications in manufacturing and construction. This grade also has some requirements to be met.

  • The width of the board should be 3 inches.
  • The length of the wood should be 4 feet.
  • The minimum cutting size should be 3 inches x 2 feet.
  • Grading is based on its poorest face.

Softwood Lumber

Because of its durability and adaptability, softwood is in high demand all around the world. The structure’s refined appearance gives it a finished look that makes it ideal for usage with a variety of indoor and external furniture and structures. It is readily available and less expensive because the tree grows quickly. Compared to hardwoods, softwood is lighter, less rigid, and less dense.


Softwood Lumber Grades

Softwood lumbers are categorized into construction and manufacturing. The construction grade is further divided into three subcategories.


  1. Non-Stress Grade

This grade is dependent on the structure of the softwood used. The higher grades have high appearance and functionality and if the lumber has defects and issues it is marked as low-grade lumber. The grades that come under this category are:

  • No.1 grade or construction grade
  • No.2 grade or standard grade
  • No.3 grade or Utility grade
  • No.4 grade or economy grade


  1. Stress Grade

Stress Grade is also known as dimensional lumber and is commonly used for manufacturing decks, studs, and joints. These grade lumbers are stronger and have more durability than Non-Stress Grade lumbers.

Grades that come under this category are:

  • Structural Light Framing
  • Light Framing
  • Structural Joints and Planks


  1. Appearance Grade

The name says it all, that it is based on the appearance of the wood. The lumber has a natural finish with siding and paneling built with this grade of lumber. However, this grade is further subdivided into subgrades that are A, B, C, and D.


The timber supplier in India supplies imported best-quality timbers and lumbers for construction and manufacturing purposes.

It is simple to choose the proper kind of timber based on its quality thanks to the lumber grades. To distinguish between them, softwood and hardwood lumber are divided into various grades. Depending on the needs of the project, you can select the type of lumber.

Comments are closed.